top of page

What Are The Stages Of NAFLD?

Updated: Apr 18, 2023

Have you heard about non-alcoholic fatty liver disease?

If you have you may know it can be reversed ij it's early stages. But what happens ion it doesn't get reversed?

Read on for more information about how this condition progresses.

NAFLD has four main stages to be aware of. It is worth noting that you are unlikely to develop further than stage one without being aware of it as you would likely be experiencing symptoms.

Simple Fatty Liver (steatosis)

A build of fat in the liver cells. This stage is harmless and you are unlikely to be experiencing symptoms. In fact you may not even know you have it and would possibly only be diagnosed during tests carried out for other reasons.

Non-alcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH)

The liver has now become inflamed.


The inflammation has caused scar tissue. The ;lover is still functioning normally.


After years of inflammation the liver has shrunk and is scarred and lumpy. The damage is permanent and can lead to liver failure.

So what are you doing to look after your liver?

Victoria xx


Need more information about how we can help keep you and your liver healthy? Book a FREE consultation here.


10 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page